The Hegel Society of America

Minutes of the Business Meeting
Eighteenth Biennial Meeting of the Hegel Society of America
Saturday, October 23, 2004
University of California, Los Angeles

The Business Meeting was called to order by the Society's President, Dr. Richard Dien Winfield, at approximately 6:20 p.m.

Dr. Ardis Collins presented the Treasurer's Report, which showed that (since October 2000) the Society's balance brought forward was $35,378.37.  Its new current balance stands at $37,839.42, with its total actual assets at $38,742.09.  Since October 2000, the Society's total new income was $22,797.75 and its total pay-outs were $20,336.70.

At the conclusion of the Treasurer's Report, the following motion was voted on and passed:

BE IT RESOLVED: That between now and the time of the next Biennial Meeting (in 2006), the Society shall implement a membership dues increase in order to cover the Society's costs, but the amount of the increase shall not exceed $15 for any membership category.

Next, elections were held for Officers and Councillors.  The final results of the elections were as follows: President: John McCumber; Vice-President: Will Dudley; Councillors: Robert Bernasconi and Andrew Buchwalter (to replace outgoing Councillors Will Dudley and Kevin Thompson).  John Russon and David Stern (who were elected to the Council in 2002) remain as Councillors for another two years.

Since the Society had not received any firm offers from potential host institutions for the 2006 meeting, it was determined that the Executive Council shall decide on the 2006 location sometime in the near future, taking into consideration factors such as hotel costs, local funding, and convenience.

Next, suggestions for the theme of the HSA conference in the year 2006 were solicited, and a vote was taken.  The theme of the 2006 conference was determined to be: Hegel and History. It was also observed that the exact wording of the 2006 Call for Papers? shall be decided upon by the HSA Vice-President (i.e., Program Chair), with the advice and consent of the Executive Council.

The membership in attendance also voted on and passed a resolution to express the Society's deep gratitude to the following institutions and individuals: to UCLA, for its institutional and financial support of the 2004 Biennial Meeting; to John McCumber for his excellent work in handling the local arrangements for the 2004 Biennial Meeting; to Andrew Hewitt (Chair of UCLA's German Department), for his support in connection with the 2004 Biennial Meeting; to Philip Grier (Program Chair for the 2004 Biennial Meeting) for assembling such a strong meeting program on “The Politics and Metaphysics of Identity and Difference. Also, it was resolved that the newly-elected President of the Hegel Society shall write a letter to George Leaman (Director of the Philosophy Documentation Center, or PDC) in order to thank the PDC for its work in digitizing back issues of the Hegel Society's publications; and to Andrew Hewitt, in order to thank him for his support of the 2004 meeting.

The Business Meeting was adjourned at approximately 7:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Michael Baur, HSA Secretary

ICON Return to the Hegel Society of America Home Page
Contact the webmaster